Capital Critics hand out their 2017 awards

The cast of Vigilante: Kris Joseph, Scott Walters, Jan Alexandra Smith, David Leyshon. Photo: DBPhotographics

The Capital Critics Circle has announced their picks for the best in local English language theatre, both professional and community.

These are the 19th annual awards handed out by the circle Monday night at the National Arts Centre. They cover productions in the national capital region in the 2016-2017 season, according to a news release.

The winners are:

Best production professional

Vigilante written, composed and directed by Jonathan Christenson, Catalyst Theatre, in association with NAC.

Best production community

Other Desert Cities by Jon Robin Baitz, directed by Geoff Gruson, Ottawa Little Theatre

Best director professional

Esther Jun The Last Wife

Best director community

Sarah Hearn Torch Song Trilogy by Harvey Fierstein, TotoToo Theatre

Best actor professional

Oliver Becker King Henry in The Last Wife

Best actor community

J. Taylor Morris Robert in Boeing-Boeing by Marc Camelotti, translated by Beverley Cross (1982) and Francis Evans (2007), directed by Shaun Toohey, Ottawa Little Theatre

Best actress professional

Jan Alexandra Smith Johannah in Vigilante

Best actress community

Venetia Lawless Brooke in Other Desert Cities

Best designer professional

Marshall McMahen production design Children of God

Best designer community

Lu-Anne Connell costumes Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

Tartan technical award professional

Roger Schultz set design I’ll Be Back Before Midnight by Peter Colley, directed by Laurel Smith, Classic Theatre Festival.

Tartan technical award community

Graham Price set and lighting The Three Musketeers by Ken Ludwig, directed by Stavros Sakiadis, Ottawa Little Theatre

Best new play

Finishing the Suit by Lawrence Aronovitch

The Audrey Ashley Award, named for a former Arts and Entertainment editor of the Ottawa Citizen, is given for a body of work. This year it goes to Ted Chartrand, TotoToo Theatre.

The awards were started in 2000. The selection committee for the 2016-2017 awards were: Barbara Gray, Patrick Langston, Jim Murchison, Jamie Portman, Alvina Ruprecht, Maja Stefanovska, Rajka Stefanovska and Iris Winston. The CCC is affiliated with the Canadian Theatre Critics Association and the International Association of Theatre Critics.

The 2017 awards are sponsored by Barbara Crook Greenberg, Alan Dean Photography, Nicholas Wojtas Photography, Coyle Publishing, the Cube Gallery, Executive Fitness Leaders and Tartan Homes.

Share Post
Written by

Peter Robb began his connection with the arts community in Ottawa in the mid-1980s when he was the administrator and public relations director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company. After a long career in journalism with the Ottawa Citizen where he served in a number of different posts he returned to the arts when he became the Citizen's arts editor.