Winners of Ottawa Little Theatre playwriting contest announced

Calgarian James Odin Wade is the winner of the Ottawa Little Theatre Award. OLT announced the results of its 76th One-Act Playwriting Competition Friday afternoon.

He won for his script In Case of Fire. The OLT competition is the country’s oldest. This year 28 entries came in from across the country. The 2017 winners join a long list of literary stars to have won including Robertson Davies, John Murrell, Erika Ritter, Catherine Banks and Ken Mitchell, the OLT said in a media release. The winners were chosen through a double blind adjudication, with all plays submitted under pen names.

The other winners are:

• Liam Salmon, (Edmonton) for his play Fags in Space. He won the second prize, Dorothy White Award.

• The third prize, The Gladys Cameron Watt Award, went to Step Taylor (Chapel Arm, Newfoundland) for Bibb’s Eve.

The adjudicators also recognized Subway Extension to the Mariana Trench by Andrew Lee (Hamilton, Ontario) with a honourable mention.

The Sybil Cooke Award for A Play Written for Children or Young People was not awarded this year.

Public readings of the winning scripts will be held on April 22 with a public dramaturgy workshop on April 23 in Ottawa Little Theatre’s Janigan Studio.  For ticket and other information, please see

Share Post
Written by

Peter Robb began his connection with the arts community in Ottawa in the mid-1980s when he was the administrator and public relations director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company. After a long career in journalism with the Ottawa Citizen where he served in a number of different posts he returned to the arts when he became the Citizen's arts editor.