Gatineau artist makes 2019 Sobey Art Award longlist

The first steps toward the awarding of the 2019 Sobey Art Award was taken Tuesday with the release of a longlist of 25 young Canadian artists. 

Among the group is Gatineau artist Caroline Monnet who is a uOttawa graduate in communications and sociology. She turned to visual art and film after graduating.

Monnet has a multidisciplinary practice.

Caroline Monnet. Photo: Ulysse Del Drago

According to her biography, Monnet’s work has been seen in Paris, Berlin, at the Toronto International Film Festival, the Sundance Festival, the Cannes Film Festival, Montreal’s Museum of Contemporary Art, Axenéo7 in Gatineau) and in the National Gallery of Canada. In 2016, she was selected for the Cinéfondation residency in Paris. Her work is included in numerous collections including Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, National Art Gallery, RBC Royal Bank and the Museum of Contemporary Art Montréal.

These days Monnet is based in Montréal. 

The Sobey Art Award hands out a total commitment of more than $650,000in support of Canadian contemporary artists. The winner of the Sobey Art Award will receive $100,000.

Each longlisted artist will get $2,000 and is in the running for an international residency.

The shortlist will be unveiled June 12.

In addition to monetary awards, three of the 25 artists will be selected to participate in the Sobey Art Award Residencies Program (SAARP) in Berlin, London and New York. These will be announced Sept. 18. One shortlisted artist will be selected by Fogo Island Arts to attend an annual residency. This will be announced 

The 2019 jury panel has selected the following 25 artists:


Philippa Jones

Eleanor King

Logan MacDonald

Ericka Walker

D’Arcy Wilson


Marie-Michelle Deschamps

Nicolas Grenier

Caroline Monnet

Celia Perrin Sidarous

Sabrina Ratté


Stephanie Comilang

Patrick Cruz

Brendan Fernandes

Laurie Kang

Erdem Taşdelen


Alana Bartol

Catherine Blackburn


Curtis Talwst Santiago

The Ephemerals


Andrew Dadson

Rochelle Goldberg

Gabrielle L’Hirondelle Hill

Anne Low

Carmen Papalia

The jury is chaired by the National Gallery of Canada’s Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Josée Drouin-Brisebois. The 2019 jury is composed of  Peter Dykhuis, director/curator, Dalhousie Art Gallery, for the Atlantic Provinces; Jo-Ann Kane, curator, National Bank Collection, for the Quebec region; Swapnaa Tamhane, independent curator, artist and writer; for the Ontario region; Lindsey Sharman, curator, Art Gallery of Alberta, for the Prairies and the North; Nigel Prince, executive director, Contemporary Art Gallery, for the West Coast and Yukon; and international juror, Henriette Bretton-Meyer, curator, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen, Denmark.

This year the Sobey Art Award finalists’ exhibition will be on view from Oct. 5, 2019 to Jan. 5, 2020 at the Art Gallery of Alberta in Edmonton. The winner of the 2019 Sobey Art Award will be announced at a gala hosted by the Art Gallery of Alberta on Nov. 15. The Fogo Island Arts residency winner will be announced in the weeks following the gala.

Since its launch, more than 230 Canadian artists have been included in the Sobey longlist. Past winners are Brian Jungen, Jean-Pierre Gauthier, Annie Pootoogook, Michel de Broin, Tim Lee, David Altmejd, Daniel Barrow, Daniel Young and Christian Giroux, Raphaëlle de Groot, Duane Linklater, Nadia Myre, Abbas Akhavan, Jeremy Shaw and Ursula Johnson. The 2018 Sobey Art Award Winner, Kapwani Kiwanga, was announced on Nov. 14, 2018 at the National Gallery of Canada.

Share Post
Written by

Peter Robb began his connection with the arts community in Ottawa in the mid-1980s when he was the administrator and public relations director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company. After a long career in journalism with the Ottawa Citizen where he served in a number of different posts he returned to the arts when he became the Citizen's arts editor.