Ottawa Book Awards honours local writers

A veteran journalist has won the Ottawa Book Award for English non-fiction for work that details his personal journey down the country’s great rivers called Original Highways: Travelling the Great Rivers of Canada.

Roy MacGregor joins two other local writers who picked up the top prizes for their disciplines. 

Shane Rhodes won the English fiction award for his book of poetry called Dead White Men (Coach House Books). Alain Bernard Marchand was the winner of the Prix du livre d’Ottawa for his collection of short stories called Sept vies, dix-sept morts (Les Herbes Rouges). Each writer receives $7,500.

The evening also saw Ottawa’s Arc Poetry Magazine honour Christine McNair with the2018 Archibald Lampman Award for her  collection Charm (BookThug).

The Association des auteures et auteurs de l’Ontario français presented the Prix émergence AAOF de littérature jeunesse 2018 to Karine Perron for her book, À l’aube du destin de Florence (Les Éditions L’Interligne).

The winners were picked by a jury of peers:

  • English fiction: Sylvia Adams, David Groulx, Ying Lee
  • English non-fiction: Pius Adesanmi, Sylvia Barrett, Suzanne Evans
  • French fiction : Marie Gingras, Monia Mazigh, Gilles Latour

For more information, please see  Ottawa Book Awards.

Share Post
Written by

Peter Robb began his connection with the arts community in Ottawa in the mid-1980s when he was the administrator and public relations director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company. After a long career in journalism with the Ottawa Citizen where he served in a number of different posts he returned to the arts when he became the Citizen's arts editor.