NACO’s Canada 150 tour: Orchestra to make a stop in Quebec City

Alexandre da Costa. Photo: Alexandre Govan

NACO’s on-going Canada 150 tour has added another stop.

Accompanied by Quebec’s violin master Alexandre da Costa, the NAC Orchestra will be making a stop in historic Quebec City on June 3. The performance will be in the Palais Montcalm, Maison de la music.

Da Costa, who has a JUNO award to his name, will play two pieces:

Vitali: (with an arrangement by Quebec composer Frédéric Chiasson) Chaconne in G minor for Violin and Orchestra;

Sarasota: Zigeunerweisen for Violin and Orchestra, Opus 20.

The concert will also include the overture to Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro and Dvorak’s New World Symphony, which was a mainstay on the recently completed tour in Atlantic Canada.

On June 18, NACO will perform Life Reflected at the Luminato Festival in Toronto. Life Reflected is a collection of four new pieces of Canadian music commissioned by the NACO for its 2015-16 season. Each piece is based on the life of a Canadian woman. The pieces are Dear Life, based on a story by Alice Munro, with music by Zosha di Castri; I Lost My Talk based on a poem by Rita Joe, the Mi’kmaw poet laureate, music by John Estacio; Bondarsphere, based on the life of Dr. Roberta Bondar, scientist, astronaut, music by Nicole Lizée; and My Name Is Amanda Todd, based on the life of B.C. teenager Amanda Todd, who took her own life after being targeted online, music by Jocelyn Morlock.

Next fall, NACO will head west and north for concerts in the rest of the country.




Share Post
Written by

Peter Robb began his connection with the arts community in Ottawa in the mid-1980s when he was the administrator and public relations director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company. After a long career in journalism with the Ottawa Citizen where he served in a number of different posts he returned to the arts when he became the Citizen's arts editor.