Long list of 25 artists for 2017 Sobey Art Award announced

The long list for the 2017 Sobey Art Award has been announced. The award is presented annually to a Canadian artist 40 and under who has exhibited in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. The names of the 25 artists vying for the top prize of $50,000 are:


Eleanor King

Graeme Patterson

Lisa Lipton

Melanie Colosimo

Ursula Johnson


Annie Baillargeon

Dan Brault

Jacynthe Carrier

Kim Waldron

Ludovic Boney


Bridget Moser

Erika DeFreitas

Jean-Paul Kelly

Nadia Belerique

Sameer Farooq


Amy Malbeuf

Divya Mehra

Erica Eyres

Kara Uzelman

The Ephemerals


Babak Golkar

James Nizam

Jeneen Frei Njootli

Raymond Boisjoly

Rebecca Brewer

The 2017 curatorial panel is chaired by the National Gallery’s Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Josée Drouin-Brisebois. The rest of the jury includes: Sarah Fillmore, chief curator at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia (Atlantic); Claude Bélanger, general and artistic director, Manif d’art de Québec; Sarah Robayo Sheridan, curator of the Art Museum at the University of Toronto; Jenifer Papararo, executive director at the Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art of Winnipeg; Reid Shier, director and curator of the Presentation House Gallery in Vancouver, B.C.;  and Adam Budak, chief curator of Collections and Exhibitions at the National Gallery in Prague, Czech Republic.

“In its 15th year, the Sobey Art Award continues to play a vital role in supporting both emerging and established Canadian artists, celebrating the variety of the Canadian visual arts scenes and showcasing talent from the country,” said Drouin-Brisebois in a media release. “Working closely with prominent curators from both Canada and abroad, the Sobey Art Award curatorial panel offers a unique and wonderful opportunity to deepen the conversation on how we continue to recognise and connect with artists from across Canada.”

A shortlist of five artists will be announced on June 6. The short-listed artists will exhibit their work at the Art Museum at the University of Toronto from Oct. 24 to Dec. 9, 2017.

The winner will be announced Oct. 25 at the Hart House Great Hall at the University of Toronto.


Share Post
Written by

Peter Robb began his connection with the arts community in Ottawa in the mid-1980s when he was the administrator and public relations director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company. After a long career in journalism with the Ottawa Citizen where he served in a number of different posts he returned to the arts when he became the Citizen's arts editor.