Ballet BC wins NAC Touring award

Ballet BC in action. Photo: Michael Slobodian

The 2019 National Arts Centre Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring has been awarded to Ballet BC in recognition of the company’s history of bringing their performances across Canada and around the world. 

The award was presented at the opening dinner of the Canadian Arts Presenting Association’s (CAPACOA) annual conference on Wednesday evening at the National Arts Centre.

“Ballet BC is honoured to receive this award from the NAC” said Emily Molnar, Ballet BC’s outgoing artistic director, in a media release. “With the help of so many, the company has been increasing its touring over the past 10 years, offering us the privilege of serving as ambassadors throughout Canada and across the globe.

“My own motivation,” she said, “stems from the desire to engage as many people as possible in a conversation through dance. Including our audiences in the process of our work is incredibly rewarding, I am always inspired by the thoughtful and responsive audience members we encounter.” 

Founded in 1986, Ballet BC is an internationally acclaimed collaborative and creation-based contemporary ballet company that is a leader and resource in the creation, production and education of contemporary dance in Canada.

Ballet BC has toured Canada extensively over the past two decades. In recent years, the company has brought contemporary dance to audiences from Nanaimo to Halifax.  Its international presence has also grown as well with performances in more than 20 cities in the U.S., the U.K., Germany, Spain, Luxembourg, Israel and Serbia. The company earned an Olivier Award for Best New Dance Production nomination this year for performances at Sadler’s Wells in London.

The National Arts Centre Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring was established in 1992 in collaboration with the Canadian Arts Presenting Association (CAPACOA). The recipient is chosen from nominations solicited from within the industry and is selected by a committee composed of presenters, agents, administrators, the National Arts Centre and CAPACOA. The recipient may be an individual, performing company, corporation or other organization.

The winner gets $2,500 and a porcelain sculpture by Ottawa’s Paula Murray.

Previous recipients include Derek Andrews (2018), the East Coast Music Association (2017), Paul Tanguay (2016), Norman Armour (2015), Tafelmusik (2014), Alain Paré (2013), Peter Feldman (2012), Ballet Jörgen Canada (2011), La danse sur les routes du Québec (2010), Uriel Luft (2009), the Organization of Saskatchewan Arts Councils (2008), Judy Harquail (2007), Ottie Lockey (2006), Colin McIntyre (2005), CBC Radio/la radio de Radio-Canada (2004), Debut Atlantic (2003), Richard Stoker (2002), Nicholas Goldschmidt (2001), Bruce Owen (2000), the Royal Winnipeg Ballet (1999), David Haber (1998), Dr. Elmer Iseler (1997), Jean-Paul Gagnon (1996), Hugh Davidson (1995), Mark Porteous (1994), George Zukerman (1993) and CAPACOA (1992).

CAPACOA is a federally incorporated, non-profit organization serving the performing arts touring and presenting field.

Share Post
Written by

Peter Robb began his connection with the arts community in Ottawa in the mid-1980s when he was the administrator and public relations director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company. After a long career in journalism with the Ottawa Citizen where he served in a number of different posts he returned to the arts when he became the Citizen's arts editor.