2018 undercurrents festival

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2018 undercurrents festival

February 7 @ 7:00 pm - February 17 @ 1:00 am

8th annual #undercurrents festival
February 7–17, 2018
Arts Court, 2 Daly Avenue (a wheelchair accessible venue)
See below for show list, full show descriptions. Tickets are available at http://www.undercurrentsfestival.ca.

THE PIPELINE PROJECT
by Sebastien Archibald, Kevin Loring & Quelemia Sparrow (Vancouver, British Columbia)
“… offers an encyclopedic array of arguments, cleverly and vividly theatricalized.” – Jerry Wasserman, The Vancouver Sun

FORSTNER & FILLISTER PRESENT: FORSTNER & FILLISTER IN: FORSTNER & FILLISTER
by David Benedict Brown, Will Somers & Madeleine Boyes-Manseau (Ottawa, Ontario)
A World Premiere, created as part of the under development program.
“Forstner and Fillister build laughs as well as furniture.” “… a joy to watch.” – Apt613

LITTLE BOXES
by Gabrielle Lazarovitz & Brad Long (Ottawa, Ontario)
A World Premiere, created as part of the under development program.
WINNER: GCTC RBC Emerging Artist Award, Gabrielle Lazarovitz (2015)
WINNER: Dora Mavor Moore Award for Outstanding Direction, Adam Paolozza (2013)

THE TWILIGHT PARADE
by Nadia Ross with the people & puppets of Wakefield, Quebec and area (Wakefield, Quebec)
WINNER: Siminovitch Prize for Directing, Nadia Ross (2016)
WINNER: Contra-Guy Award, Chalmers’ Award, and Dora Mavor Moore Award, Nadia Ross

HOW TO DISAPPEAR COMPLETELY
by Itai Erdal, James Long, Anita Rochon & Emelia Symington Fedy (Vancouver, British Columbia)
“How to Disappear Completely illuminates, stimulates … intelligent, dense, emotionally powerful.” – Joff Schmidt, CBC News

THE SHIT SHOW
by Luna Allison (Ottawa, Ontario)
“Rarely does one see such a well-rounded and professionally executed performance.” – Rajka Stefanovska, Capital Critics’ Circle

SNACK MUSIC
by Ginette Mohr, Elliott Loran, Andrew G. Young & Ingrid Hansen (Toronto, Ontario)
“Snack Music is an absolute riot and you wish it just didn’t have to end.” ★★★★★ – On Stage Ottawa Review

DAUGHTER
by Adam Lazarus, Ann-Marie Kerr, Jiv Parasram & Melissa D’Agostino (Toronto, Ontario)
“Adam Lazarus’s one man show provides an enormous psychological impact. Daughter leaves an audience challenged and deeply unnerved from exposure to the ugliness of misogyny.” ★★★★★ – Mark Kay, Torontoist

INDIGENOUS WALKS
by Jaime Koebel (Ottawa, Ontario)
Back by popular demand, this guided walk-and-talk through downtown Ottawa showcases local landmarks through an Indigenous lens – and has a limited capacity so book early!

NEW PLAY TUESDAY
A staged reading of plays-in-progress by Ottawa playwrights J. Katrina Wong, Pierre Brault, and Joanne John. A short discussion will follow each reading.

A THOUSAND THANK YOUS FOR HELPING UNDERCURRENTS HAPPEN!!

UNDERCURRENTS PRESENTED BY
Ottawa Fringe – ottawafringe.com
Arts Court Theatre – artscourt.ca

IN COLLABORATION WITH
Chill Factor/Downtown Rideau BIA – http://www.downtownrideau.com

AND WITH THE SUPPORT OF
Ottawa Festivals – http://www.ottawafestivals.ca

BAR SERVICE & FOOD THANKS TO
Dominion City Brewing Co. – http://www.dominioncity.ca
Albion Rooms – thealbionrooms.com

UNDERCURRENTS GRATEFULLY ACKNOWLEDGES CONTRIBUTIONS FROM
Canadian Heritage – http://www.canada.ca/en/canadian-heritage.html
Canada Council for the Arts – canadacouncil.ca
Ontario Trillium Foundation – http://www.otf.ca
Ontario Arts Council – http://www.arts.on.ca
City of Ottawa – ottawa.ca

MEDIA PARTNERS
Apt613 – apt613.ca
Metro – http://www.metronews.ca/ottawa

Details

Start:
February 7 @ 7:00 pm
End:
February 17 @ 1:00 am
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/698827260323461

Venue

Arts Court
2 Daly Avenue
Ottawa, ON K1N 6E2 Canada

Organizer

Ottawa Fringe